Dreamers of the Day

Today I officially signed up for the North Face Endurance Challenge 50K at Bear Mountain.  I think I’ve written enough about my thoughts surrounding the race at this point — 2 months out, I don’t have anything to really add at this point that would not be redundant or overly self-indulgent.  I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say in the 64 days leading up to the race, but for now I will just leave you with a quote.

I haven’t posted a quote in quite some time, and while this one isn’t explicitly about running, its about making dreams into realities, actually pursuing a goal with open eyes — which is what signing up for this race is all about.  Besides, one could do worse than evoking T.E. Lawrence in conjunction with an ultramarathon.

***

All men dream: but not equally.  Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake by the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible.

– T.E. Lawrence, “The Seven Pillars of Wisdom”

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Quotes, Ultra Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

