To Gym Park in the Rain (6.45 miles)

I don’t think I’ll be able to wax poetic about every run, so some reflections will be less verbose than others. Today, it was three and a quarter miles taking Nat in the jogging stroller to Greenpoint in the freezing rain, then the return trip two and a half hours later (also in the freezing rain).  The route involves nothing scenic (though Nat always likes going under the J Train), a few nasty intersections, and both badly paved roads and poorly maintained sidewalks.  And did I mention the freezing rain?

Today’s temperature claimed into the mid 30’s, just high enough to ensure the precipitation wasn’t in the pleasant form of snow, but in a steady drizzle.  All I can say is thank God for Gortex; I don’t know about the environmental consequences of its production, and frankly don’t care, because that stuff is brilliant.  From the ankles up, the only reason I wasn’t dry was my face and the fact I was sweating under my jacket.  My feet, on the other hand, were soaked after a few minutes, since the rain had accumulated in puddles and pot-holes and transformed patches of snow into standing piles of slush.

On the way back, my Achilles tendon started complaining again, so I’m going to go back to icing it again.  Sigh.  I really enjoyed my long stretch of not being injured.  Perhaps I might have to cave in on my “replacing your shoes after three hundred-miles is just the capitalist pigs’ attempt to get you to buy their product” philosophy and actually buy myself a new pair of shoes.

Still, I enjoyed the run.  Being out in  such miserable weather leant the outing a touch of the hard-core, so in addition to having a run I was able to delude myself into thinking that I am much tougher than I actually am.  I also take great pleasure in practical running, when my run takes the place of some other form of transportation and serves an actual purpose.  In this case, running beats public transportation just in terms of time.  The subway takes about 45 minutes, door-to-door; the bus, an hour; by foot, its just under half-an-hour.  Besides, after an hour of gym class and two hours of open-play time, the run back allows Nat a well needed nap, and the stroller never fails to lull him to sleep.  And after two and a half hours of trailing around a crazy, happy toddler, I had managed to steel myself to the prospect of heading back out into more freezing rain.

Total Distance:  6.45 miles        Total Time: 57:49

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Injuries, Practical Runs, Running with Nat and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

