Jack Rabbit Screen Test

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how I was applying for JackRabbit Sports‘ “Run for the Rabbit” advertising campaign.  Last week, I received an e-mail inviting me in for a screen test, so I made it past the application stage at least.  Since they were signing people up for 15 minute slots between the hours of noon and six on Monday and Friday, some quick math means I must be one of around 50 people who received invitations, and as there will be six people selected for the campaign, I’ve got something close to a 1-in-9 chance of making the cut not.  Not bad!

So Friday after school I dropped by the store on 14th street, where I signed in at 4:15 and then since they were running late, had to hang around for almost an hour (luckily I also needed new running shoes, so it was a two birds, one stone stop).  When they called me, I was taken down to the store’s basement where I was introduced to a somewhat stir-crazy production team.  One guy hooked a wireless mic to me as the other crew members fiddled with light meters, massive flash-diffusers, curtains, and even a clapper board, which for some reason made the whole thing seem extra official.

With two camera’s rolling, they asked me about myself, where I grew up, and what I do for a living.  Mostly they had me talk about how I got into running and why I keep running (which I’ll write about on this site someday), then a little about why I chose The Door to be my designated charity if I’m part of the competition.  To end, they did a few takes of me saying “I love JackRabbit!” and what must be the competitions slogan: “Six runners, six causes, one goal.”

If nothing else, it was sort of fun, plus JackRabbit gave me a $15 gift-certificate just for coming to the screen test.  Keep your fingers crossed, and of course I’ll let everyone know if I get lucky . . .

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

