Friday Lunch Run (3 miles)

I don’t think I’ll always have anything deep, poetic, or even descriptive to say about more routine runs, but since I’m largely keeping this for my own running log, that’s fine by me.  Any readers can feel free to skip these entries.  (Of course, any readers can feel free to skip this blog entirely.  I won’t mind.  Or even know.)

Friday’s are my best lunch-hour running days, as I have 3rd, 4th, and 5th periods off (two are prep and department periods that I have to work during, but it means my time is somewhat flexible, as I don’t have to worry about running late and missing the start of a class).  Today I merely repeated Wednesday’s run, as I’m trying to be very conscientious of my heel and not overworking it:  a mile and a half out, over the McComb’s Damn Bridge up to Washington Heights, then back to the school.  The weather was once again warm and windy; I kept an easy, steady pace, and my heel felt tired but not sore.  I hardly call this “running,” either in terms of speed or distance, but as a mid-morning pick-me up, its amazing.  Nothing makes a day of teaching seem less onerous than a quick run out in the fresh air.

Total Distance: 3 miles      Total Time: Not Recorded

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Lunchtime Runs, Routine, Runs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

