Winter’s Not Done Yet (4 miles)

I think Winter must have taken umbrage at my recent insistence on shorts, because last night she decided to remind us that the solstice is still a bit off with yet another snowfall.  While it did drive me back into my running tights, it didn’t stop Nat and I for heading out with the jogging stroller for a short 4 mile outing.  We received just enough snow to leave a beautiful coating draped over all the trees and rooftops in the neighborhood; in fact, it inspired me to finally take my camera along for a run:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Nat was very tired, and after about a mile dozed off in his cozy blanket along with Super Grover.  Besides our late wintery wonderland, you can see a picture of my home-made ice-cleats: 50 cents worth of sheet-metal screws in the sole of an old pair of trail shoes.  They were a bit unnecessary for this little snow, but there were a few blocks adjacent to warehouses where the extra traction helped on some un-shoveled sidewalks.  I think my heel is doing well enough to move my standard run back up to 4 miles.

Total Distance: 4 miles          Total Time: Unrecorded

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Running with Nat, Runs, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

