A Second Run to End the Day (3.33 miles)

After the wonderful, centering effect of my lunch run, my seventh and eight period had me on the verge of throwing things around the room and swearing again.  It’s never a good sign when I’m walking around the class-room, trying to facilitate a discussion, grinding my teeth and muttering, “I f***ing hate these kids and f***ing hate this f***ing job.”  So recovering heel be or no, I needed to run again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I needed to pick Nat of from our friend Jenella’s, where he was spending the afternoon while M finished up some work, so I took the train out to Brooklyn and got off at Jay Street.  Although it was later in the afternoon and getting a bit chillier, it was still perfect for shorts and no jacket, so I shed layers as I went.  The run home was just over three miles and very routine — through the Metro-Tech campus, across Flatbush Avenue Extension, down Myrtle to cut through Ft. Green Park, then following walk lights to Hancock and Marcus Garvey.  The sun was getting lower at my back, and the light was pale and gorgeous by the time I stopped running to walk the last block.

Distance: 3.33 miles         Time: 28 minutes

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Routine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

