Still Running, Just not for the Rabbit

Today I got an e-mail from Jack Rabbit letting me know I was not one of the six runners selected for their “Run for the Rabbit” ad campaign.  While it sounded fun and I would have enjoyed the experience (obviously, or else I wouldn’t have applied), I also like the idea of not having any commitment to train or run a specific marathon, especially if I want to do an ultra in the fall.  It’s honestly not a “sour grapes” sort of reaction, its just I was lucky enough to have either outcome be something I was really looking forward to.  Not a bad position to be in.

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Goals, Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still Running, Just not for the Rabbit

  1. Candace Donovan says:

    OK…how do you take such great pictures while you are running? And in the afternoon run of yesterday, did I see the house where you and Mulzer were committed to each other?

    • Chris Van Dyke says:

      Thanks for the complement, but the taking just involves a Cannon CoolPix that fits pretty comfortably in my hand. When I wear my running backpack, there’s a waist pocket it fits in, and on short runs I can just carry it. I don’t take it out all that often, though I’ve been trying it out lately. And, no, that wasn’t the Morris-Jamell Manor — its actually the public restrooms in Ft. Green Park : )

Leave a Reply

