Miscellanea

Since I didn’t run today (figured my ankle could use two rest days) I thought I might finally get around to writing up my “buddhist running” post that keeps milling about in head, but I’ve had far too much to do today, and it will most likely be a bit long and rambling.

Instead, I’d like to give a shout out to my friends Dave and Kelly, who just finished the NYC Half-Marathon this last weekend — their first half-marathon!  They were the couple we met up with after the Coogan’s 5K a few weeks back, and they were never, ever, even-slightly runners before.  They both finished in around 2:17, which is awesome.  My first half was way back in 2006, and I ramped up to it way too fast: I blew out my right knee over-training, then didn’t actually rest it enough and stubbornly insisted on running the Staten Island Half even though I hadn’t been able to properly train OR rehab my knee.  It gave out around mile 11, and I literally limped, crying, over the finish line in 2:30.  I think that was the day that my fate as a runner was sealed, since a normal person would have said, “never again.” Instead, six months later I did the Brooklyn half in 2:00, and then came back to Staten Island in ’07 and finished in 1:55.  My half-marathon PR was for the Bronx Half in ’08, which I ran in 1:49.  Anyway, Dave and Kelly are off to a better start in long-distance running than I was; here’s to seeing them at more races in the coming years!

Also, I may not have made the cut for Jackrabbit’s Run for the Rabbit Campaign, but it seems I get a few fractions of a second of fame in their current adds.

I’m in the photo collage at 00:04 and then flashed again at 00:21.  Might not get me a Saucony endorsement, but sort of fun none-the-less.  Besides, Jackrabbit is, hands-down, my favorite running shop, and I’m saying that as someone they did NOT chose to be their spokesperson.  Though I am going to see if I can use this blog to get a press-pass to their upcoming running show.  Hey, worth a shot.

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

