Taking the Big Brother Out for a Run (9.15 miles)

Last night I was up at 3 am feeding Angelica, and up again with her at 5:30.  So obviously I decided to take Nat out for a 9 mile run today.  Partially, it was because of the worries I wrote about yesterday — I don’t want to get out of the habit of running, so heading out for a longer run the day after Angelica came home was my way of throwing down the gauntlet to myself.  I also wanted to get Nat out of the house for some alone-time with him, since he is a bit overwhelmed by this “new sister” thing and about to explode.  He’ll explode into a thousand pieces of sweet, well-meaning big-brother, but still explode.

(Okay, this is still “just” my running blog, but I think I need to just throw a picture of Angelica out there, since she won’t be strapped into the jogging stroller for almost a year)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(There.  Now back to the blog)

Mother nature has seen fit to usher in Spring with an accompanying cast of sleet, snow, rain and wind, so I also wanted to take advantage of the fact that today was clear.  Cold, so we bundled up in winter gear (good thing I held of packing away the tights!), but perfect for running, and we headed north to Ft. Green and the Gym Park.  I figured a few hours of leaping about on the trampoline would be just what Nat needed to work out all his energy and emotions: it takes a lot of self-control to remember “Don’t push the baby!”  (A rule he can recite, but unfortunately often does so immediately after pushing over another toddler.)  And Angelica could most likely use a few hours of not having Nat practice using his “gentle touch” on her.  He’s sweet, but a bit overwhelming.

Unfortunately, after the usual 3.5 miles to Gym Park, we discovered they were closed!  We drowned out disappointment in a chocolate chip cookie, then went to play on a nearby playground.  The wind was a bit much, however, especially since I was just in my running clothes, and even Nat declared it was “too cold” after a few minutes in the swing.  I bundled him back into the stroller, and within a mile or two he was out.

I headed South along the wide bike-lane that follows Kent to the BQE, then continued on Kent, then Franklin, down to Atlantic.  After dropping off a prescription at Duane Reede I rounded the run off to 9 miles — part of me wanted to go further, but I reminded myself of that sudden ankle pain last week, and the need for moderation.  As I type this now, Nat is still sleeping, and M is in the next room with Angelica.  It seems I can get in a run after a restless night of bottles and lullabies.  Hopefully its the first of many . . .

Distance: 9.15 miles          Time: 1:18:24

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Running with Nat, Runs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

