People Who Make Me Look Normal, #3

Anyone who runs the Marathon des Sables (Marathon of Sand) makes me look normal.  Forget Leadville or the Hardrock 100, the Marathon Des Sables is a a 6 day, 151 mile foot race across the Sahara Desert.  If that doesn’t sound crazy by itself, participants have to carry all their gear and food for all six days themselves (they generously provide you with tents and water each night).  Highlights of its 25 year history include Mauro Prosperi, who in 1994 became lost in a sandstorm and wandered in the desert for 9 days and lost 30 pounds before being rescued, as well as two deaths (though given the conditions, that seems impressively low).

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in People Who Make Me Look Normal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

