Meeting Up in the Rain (12 miles)

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how a post by Susan Lacke over on NoMeatAthlete.com finally got me interested in Twitter.  During the #nmachat, I met Shannon, a runner who was just about to move from Charleston to Brooklyn.  It turned out she was moving only a mile from us, so we exchanged e-mails, I gave her some tips about NYC and our neighborhood (like how only someone in real-estate would tell her that Myrtle and Nostrand was in Clinton Hill), and we made plans to meet up for a running introduction to Brooklyn.  After a week of playing e-mail tag, we finally settled on today.  For a while it looked like the rain was going to ruin our run, but then the downpour reduced itself to a drizzle, and we decided to brave the weather.

After wrestling both Nat and Supergrover into the running stroller, I headed out in full rain-gear to the corner of Myrtle and Nostrand, where Shannon met us outside the Duane Reede.  The rain had pretty much stopped, so I stashed my rain pants and jacket under the stroller.  Shannon wanted to run around 6 miles, so I decided to head to Green Point, as a round-trip run up Kent would be just about that distance.  I pointed out the bridges, neighborhood boundaries, and which direction to head for some good running, and we talked about our jobs, where we lived, and various other “getting to know you” chatter.  I’ve never gone running with someone I’ve never met (not too surprising, I suppose), but it was sort of a fun way to get to know someone.  There was an obvious point of interest in common (“When did you start running?”  “What marathons have you done?”), which made talking easy.  As is pretty apparent if you’ve read my blog for a while, I almost always run alone, but it was nice to have a break from a purely cerebral, internal experience; overall, I still think I refer to do my running solo, but I also think I’d like to have a few regular running partners to add some variety.

So we ran up Kent to Oak Street then turned around, and Shannon left us back at the Duane Reede where we met up.  I’d run just over 7 miles at this point, and the rain was starting to pick up again, but I wanted to keep going, so I slipped back into my pants and jacket and continued down Nostrand, then over to Franklin.  By the time I got to Fulton, I’d been out in the drizzle and rain, running down puddle-lined sidewalks and through flooded intersections, and my feet were soaked.  I’d prepared for that though: I stopped to sit at a stoop and changed into a dry pair of socks, then kept going.  The rain was picking up, but between a wet week and my parents being in town, I’d only run 14.5 miles in the last five days and really wanted to get in a long run, so I kept running.  Besides, I had a dry pair of socks on, and that made all the difference.

Nat woke up, but seemed content to just stare sleepily at the passing scenery.  I ran down to Eastern Parkway, then took the Greenway East to Utica, then turned North back towards home.  I decided I’d stop at Bread-Stuy to get Nat a cookie and myself a cup of coffee, and did a few circles around nearby blocks to make the run an even 12 miles.  Just as I stopped the rain let up, so I pulled the rain-cover off the stroller, and we walked home slowly, Nat gnawing at his cookie, I sipping at a warm cup of coffee, soaked to the skin, and thinking of a warm shower at home.

Distance: 12 miles          Time: 1:53:22

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Long Runs, Running with Nat, Runs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

