Quoting Murakami, pt. 2

I realized that after naming this blog after Murakami’s book, I haven’t posted a quote from his writing in a very long time.  So this is in honor of the end of Spring break, and my somewhat-dreaded return to the education mines:

“Forcing people who have no desire to run, or who aren’t physically fit enough, is a kind of pointless torture.  I always want to advise teachers not to force all junior and senior high school students to run the same course, but I doubt anybody’s going to listen to me.  That’s what schools are like.  The most important thing we ever learn at school is the fact that the most important things can’t be learned at school.” (What I Talk About When I talk About Running, p. 45)

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Murakami, Quotes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quoting Murakami, pt. 2

  1. Hope says:

    Yes! I think this also played a big part in why I never wanted to run before. When I was young I loved running, sprints mostly, so I joined the track team in jr. high. It was torture. Especially when the teacher signed me up for a 600, when the most I had ever run before was a 100, and didn’t tell me until the day of the meet. I think she wanted to push me, but I thought I was going to die. That about did it for my running career up til now. I never wanted to run again. Whenever I tried, my lungs started burning and I had flashbacks to the humiliation of being the last person around a track in front of other junior highers. If I hadn’t been thrown into that situation, or if the coaches hadn’t just focused on the “athletic” kids (since everyone at the school had to do some PE/sports) maybe I would have come to running sooner.

Leave a Reply

