Before and After

I’ve been running a lot this week. I took Sunday off after my long run, but then have run every day since then. Monday I did 4 miles with Nat to pick up Star from the kennel; Tuesday I did actual speed-work at the track by my school; Wednesday I ran home via downtown Brooklyn and Jackrabbit; and today I did 4 miles barefoot on the track. I haven’t found a lot of time to write about all this running, however, since I’m trying to catch up on all the school work that I let slide in the my past few weeks of apathy. This week I’ve been feeling a bit better, though I don’t know if its due to all the running, the beautiful weather, or the fact that my classes are reading Catcher in the Rye, which is always the high point of the year for me.

I’ll try to catch up at some point, especially with the speed-work and barefoot track running, since I’ve had some interesting thoughts about both of them; one problem with running 5-6 days a week is that I really don’t have time to post 5-6 times, let alone have 5-6 meaningful thoughts about running each week. At some point, I suppose, I’ll just have to let some runs go by unanalyzed.

However, I thought I’d share my “Before” and “After” pictures with you. If you read part 1 of my origin story, “Beer & Cigarettes,” you remember I was up to 230 pounds at one point.  Now to be fair, I lost about 15 pounds just when I moved to New York, but here’s me in 2003 (before running) and two of me from the last 6 months:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pretty dramatic, right?  I mostly run because I like how it feels to be healthy, and I love the experience of running, but this picture also serves as a pretty good motive as well.

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Goals, How I Became A Runner, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Before and After

  1. Anna says:

    Holy cow. Haven’t seen that picture. I knew you were big … but the difference between then and now is so dramatic. You look great, big brother. =)

Leave a Reply

