Doesn’t Get Cheaper than Free!

Whether or not you’re tempted to go full-blow-crazy-hippie and run without shoes, anyone interested in the whole barefoot running thing should go download Jason Robillard’s The Barefood Running Book. The title may be understated, but the definite pronoun is accurate — this is pretty much the book on the subject, and walks you through drills and getting started running barefoot.

You can buy it in electronic or print format on Amazon, or you can download it in PDF for FREE, over at Jason’s site.  Which is why I’m posting it, because even if you have a passing interest in the subject, it’s free, right ?  You like free stuff, don’t you?

*

Returning to my feet, today will be my second day in a row; two days without running has been pretty rare for me recently, and its sort of making me antsy.  Yesterday, I had to get up at 4 to chaperone a field trip to Philadelphia, so running was pretty much out, and today is my first day home with both kids as my summer-stint at stay-at-home dad.  I’d also run 67 miles in the first 13 days this month, so I think its about time for a break.

I’ve also had this really annoying, non-running injury, one of those stupid little things that just irritates you because its so dumb.  I’ve had a bit of dry skin between my toes on my left foot that cracked and became a cut.  It’s no big deal, but it hurts a little when I walk, so I’ve been subconsciously favoring it ever so slightly — not enough for me to really notice even, but enough to change my gait and so now my entire foot is sore and the calf muscles on that leg are in knots.  I’m practically limping, and there isn’t really anything wrong with me.

Tomorrow I’ll be back to running, and we’ll see how the foot holds up, and how running fits into this whole stay-at-home dad thing.  I assume I’ll be running super-early or rather late, since lunch hour runs are now out of the question.  Guess we’ll see . . .

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Barefoot Running, Injuries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

