It’s not the first 99 miles that count . . .

I’ve actually managed to run four days in a row, which as made me very happy, and means I (might) actually have some running to write about, if I ever have the energy or time to do so.  Right now I’m trying to not nod off on the couch, and its only 10 on a Tuesday — I’m going to listen to my body and get some sleep in a few minutes, because tomorrow its back to chasing around the crazy toddler while carrying the baby at the same time.  Makes today’s 11 mile run in the mid-day sun sound easy . . .

But since I’m NOT up to writing about my running yet, I thought I’d point people to what I think is the coolest story from this years Western States 100.  The guys always get all the attention (don’t they always?) and the men’s field was very competitive and very close.  But the exciting end was in the women’s field.  Not only were the top competitors neck and neck to the end, but then at mile 98.9there was an angry black bear with her cub that caused a bit of a traffic jam.  When the trail finally cleared, the second and third place women had a mile duel to the finish line.  You can read a great first person account of it at Kami Semick’s blog.

You can also see their sprint to the finish line here.  Remember, these two women have just run 100 miles over 18 hours, and they are this close and can run this fast.  Inspiring.

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Other Running Blogs, Ultra Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

