Hello, Faceless Audience!

I was somewhat surprised to realize that my recent race report on the Bed-Stuy 10K was my 125th post; it doesn’t feel like I’ve been keeping this blog that long.  Also, checking my site stats, I’m somewhat past 8,000 page views, which is also pleasantly surprising.  It seems that most of my posts get around 40-60 views, and while that is relatively insignificant in the grand scheme of blogs, seems pretty impressive to me, because it means that people other than my friends, family, and blog-associates read my writing on a regular basis.

Its odd to think that complete strangers are interested in following my writing.  Since I don’t write about issues of controversies, most of my readers haven’t ever left a comment, so I have no idea who is stopping by to take in my ramblings and reflections.

****

So I have a request.  If you’re reading this, can you leave me a quick comment just saying hi and introducing yourself?  Some of you I obviously know are out there (Hi Mom and Dad!), but I’d just love a quick snapshot of who my “audience” is (I hear I have a cult following amongst students at Colgate University).  Feel free to ignore me (I’ll never know) but it would be great to hear from you.  No, not you — YOU.  Thanks.

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Hello, Faceless Audience!

  1. Josh says:

    Well let me get the comments rolling! Like all the running blogs I follow (they all relate to barefooting/natural/minimalist whatever you like, just run and dot it with joy blogs) I stumbled upon yours in one way or another from someone else’s blog. I couldn’t tell you which one it was, but I think it coincided with the recent NYC Barefoot Fun Run. Your How I Became a Runner series is well written and hooked me in to become a regular reader. I have a 10 year history with running, but consider myself a complete newbie as I only recently discovered Good Form Running and barefooting. I’m on my own journey to running addiction and am starving for others like myself. None of my close friends are runners and don’t understand why I would wear VFFs in public. I’ve ventured into the blogging world, made a few posts, but not promoted it to friends and family yet. Work in progress. Keep on running, living, and posting!

    • Chris Van Dyke says:

      Well, Josh, thanks for saying hi and reading the blog! I’ll just dropped by yours and like what I saw. And thanks for breaking the comment ice 🙂

  2. Hope says:

    Hiya *waves*. You already know I am here, but I will post, just to get the ball rolling. Managed to run 4 miles (treadmill, unfortunately, where most of my running is right now) this morning, after playing 4 tennis matches this weekend. The running definitely helps my endurance in singles matches!

  3. vanessaruns says:

    Hi Chris! Totally read your blog. I subscribe via email, so I get it every time you post. Your training has been very interesting and every once in a while I find some truly beautiful and brilliant writing 🙂

  4. Richard says:

    Hey Son…it is your Dad and I do read them when I know you posted something.

  5. I’m Stephanie of Barefoot Roses. I think I found you via the Run Smiley collective. I’ve been barefooting for two years now and blogging for quite some time. It’s not always about running but it is mostly about running. I’m still learning and learning that I learn from others’ learnings. I bouncing around the barefoot runners’ blogs to see what everyone is up to and what they think.

    • Chris Van Dyke says:

      Thanks, Stephanie. Learning and learning from other’s learnings sounds like a good way to do things — flattered that you might have learned something from my learnings.

  6. Andy says:

    Hello Chris, hello world. Greetings from Vancouver, BC. I don’t know how I came across your blog but I’ve been a subscriber to it for a while. Good writing, interesting topics, and I dig your perspective on running I suppose is what keeps me reading it.
    I like to run. Trails in the mountains around my city for the most part are where I’m happiest.
    I’m a fairly poor internetter, more passive consuming than active creating, I’m afraid. Like many people, I have a fairly neglected blog of my own.
    That’s that, I’m off to go running in the pouring rain that will be our lovely Cascadia for the foreseeable future…

    • Chris Van Dyke says:

      Andy, you’re exactly the person i was trying to scare out of the woodwork 🙂 Thanks for passively consuming by blog, and thanks for saying Hi. I grew up in oregon, so I know the Pacific North West rain. Glad you enjoy what you find here — now feel free to going back to being ghost in the machine 🙂

  7. Nils says:

    Itsa me, Nilsio! Thanks for updating regularly. You’re one of two people I know personally who actually update their blogs.

  8. Malva says:

    It’s never too late to delurk. 🙂

    I’m a brand new runner and read a few minimalist running blogs. I find it keeps me motivated as I don’t have any real life support.

    I found your blog from the Run Smiley Collective. When you first posted there I checked out your blog and now I read it sporadically. You write well and I can relate to you (city life, family life, work). As an agnostic with buddhist leanings, I also enjoy your more spiritual posts.

Leave a Reply

