Scenes From My Commute

After doing a 15 mile round trip to and from the Upper East Side monday, it was back to more regular commute to and from Kurt Hahn.  Tuesday my lefts were a bit sore by the end of the day, especially as a detour to buy some goat cheese for a spinach salad added almost 3 miles to the trip home.  Wednesday I biked, but it was back to running Thursday and today.  With weather this insanely mild, I want to run as often as possible.  Of course, its a bit disturbing that on February 3rd I ran home in a t-shirt and shorts, and without a hat; normally this time of year I’m in tights, jacket and balaklava when I head out for a run.  It might be a sign that our planet it doomed, but I’ll enjoy it while I can.

***

Since we moved to our new house, my commute has shifted somewhat.  Our new place is exactly 1 mile east and a few blocks south of our old apartment, dropping my commute from 3.5 to 2.75 miles each way.  I now pretty much run directly south to my school, with new landmarks delineating my travel and new intersections to traverse.  After posting pictures of my run to 67th street, I realized I haven’t put up any pictures of my new commute.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Of course, its very urban — south from Bed-Stuy through Crown-Heights to East Flatbush.  This time of year the light is amazing, since I’m leaving just after sun-rise when the first orange-gold rays of light are breaking over the apartment buildings.  The large building in the second picture is of St. Mary’s Hospital — and it’s a stunning, eerie monument to urban blight as it is completely abandoned.  The doors are all boarded up, and the complex takes up half of an entire block, multiple buildings crouching vacant and ominous in the midst of a residential neighborhood.

What I love about my commute is that I’m heading to work at the same time as hundreds of school kids, so each day I pass mothers and fathers walking their six-year olds to grade-school, older siblings taking younger brothers or sisters to school, or flocks of middle-school students scattered all over the sidewalk.  It’s a good way to start each day — an abandoned hospital and laughing children.

And a run.

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Routine, Runs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

