Running Home

A few days ago, I posted a picture of my “morning running buddy” — the blue-nosed pit who guards a car lot at the corner of Remsen and Kings Highway.  Right across Remsen is another lot, and my “evening running buddy” —  a German Shepherd who guards another car lot.  Because of the way I hit the lights at the intersection, I’m always on the south-side with the blue-nose on the way to work, and on the north-side with the shepherd on the way home.

A mile or so later, I was running up Buffalo Avenue, where it bisects Arthur Somers Park by Eastern Parkway.  A guy walking his dog stopped, stared at me, and shouted: “Hey!”  I stopped.

“Yo!  Didn’t I see you running this morning?”

“Yeah.”

“And you’re still running?”

“I ran to work, and now I’m running home.”

“Oh.  For a second I thought you’d been running the whole time!”

I didn’t tell him that that, instead of being an impossible misunderstanding of my commute, a 12 hour run was, in fact, one of my fantasies.  I just smiled, laughed, and went back to running home.

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Practical Runs, Routine, Runs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

