Unshoes Pah Tempe Review (guest post at MGBG)

I’m super excited to have my guest review of Unshoes newest sandal, the Pah Tempe, posted over at The Maple Grove Barefoot Guy.  One reason is that its one of my favorite blogs, written by one of my favorite fellow crazy-man, Christian Peterson.  Christian is one of the barefoot runners I had the pleasure of meeting at the New York Barefoot Run (he’s the one in the cape and Roman garb), and although he seems to write about cross-fit more than running these days, his blog is still great.  His posting my review is great both because I love the blog, and because his blog is considerably more popular than mine, so that means the possibility of new readers (hello, theoretical new readers!)

But the reason I’m really excited is that this is my first “real” free swag.  Until now, I’ve only had second-hand swag.  I got a free pair of Invisible Shoes because they were given out to everyone connected to The Run Smiley Collective.  I got my “Idiots Guide to Barefoot Running” because Vanessa had more books to review than she had time to read, and I got my Sockwas because Christian was sent a review pair and they didn’t fit his size 18 feet.

I got the Pah Tempe’s because I wrote to the company and said I wanted to review them.  They looked at my blog, liked what they saw, and agreed to send me a free pair to test and review.  Which I think was pretty cool.  I honestly think its even cooler coming from a small company like Unshoes.  I mean, New Balance can just throw a shoe in a box and ship it out — Terrel Fox of Unshoes hand-makes each pair.  So having him like my blog enough to put not just the physical product but his own time and labor into a shoe that he then sent me for free was flattering.  Once they were sent out, I was actually a bit nervous, since I would have felt terrible giving them a bad review if they sucked; luckily I LOVED them.

Anyway, go read my review.  Or, if you just read it at MGBG and are here for the first time, browse around my old posts.  Some entries to start with might include “The Runner’s Prayer,” “Buddhist Running — Theories of Relativity,” and what might be my personal favorite, “Running After Orcs.”

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Product Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unshoes Pah Tempe Review (guest post at MGBG)

  1. Crossfit has way more stuff to make fun of than running. It’s easier to fill my stupid joke quota that way. Nice review by the way, and thanks for helping me out!

  2. runariran says:

    I loved your review of the Unshoes! I just got my first pair, and am LOVING them! I love your blog, too by the way!

Leave a Reply

