One Week

In little over a week, I’ll be at the starting line of my first 50K.  I haven;t written anything in three weeks, because I haven’t had much to say about running.  I’ve been running to and from work almost every day, and done a few runs with the kids in the stroller, but that’s about it.  

What about my ultra training, you say? (cough cough)  LOOK OVER THERE!  Now what were we talking about?  The fact that I’m spending all my free time drawing and planning comics?  Oh, yeah. my training.  Actually, I’m not going to say anything about it until after the race, since i don’t want to jinx myself.  If I finish well, I can talk about it safely in retrospect; if I DNF, I can ruefully deconstruct it after the fact.  Let’s just say my ultra strategy consists primarily of stubbornness and ignorance, with a dose of stupidity thrown in for good measure.

I’ve got a checklist of gear to prepare over the next few days.  Thursday I’ll go pick up my number, then Friday I’m going to stay with my mother-in-law, who is generously offered to drive me to the start (we’re leaving her place at around 4:30 am).  She’s going to pick up m and the kids and come meet me at the finish line.  The face is in Bear mountain State Park, so it should be a great place to hang out with the family.

I’ve learned its best not to go into any serious race without goal of some sort.  I was never planning on racing this 50K in the fist place, and my lack of serious training has certainly confirmed that, so my goals are modest to say the least.  In order, they are:

  1. Have fun.
  2. Don’t get any serious injuries.
  3. Cross the finish line.
  4. Finish in under 8 hours.

As long as I do at least #1, I’ll be happy.  I’d like to do the first 3.  The time is utterly arbitrary — I have no really long trial runs to estimate a pace on.  I figure I’ll start out slow, enjoy the rugged scenery, enjoy some long solitary hours in nature, walk a lot, take some pictures, and eventually travel 31 miles).

One week.  Crazy.

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

