Three Days . . .

. . . until the North Face Endurance Challenge 50K at Bear Mountain.  Between school, family, and the house, I’m too busy to be nervous, or even really excited.  I keep thinking about it, but I have so many other things to do that I haven’t really had a chance to come to terms with how soon it is.

Today I started packing my bag — three days might be a bit early, but if I realize there’s something I don’t have I need a chance to run out and get it.  I assume I’ll over pack, in terms of gels and things like that.  My first half-marathon, I think I had six GU’s stuffed into my shorts pockets, and of course now I head out the door to run 13 miles without any.  Heck, I think my first 10K I took a power-bar, as if I was headed out for the Marathon de Sables instead of a short jog in Central Park and was running a serious risk of dying of malnutrition over the course of 6.2 miles.

And yet, without the benefit of hind-sight, I find 31 miles through the woods intimidating and will undoubtedly end the race with a Camel Pack filled with uneaten gels.  I’m still trying to decide whether or not to take my camera to get some shots of the course.

Three days.

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

