Calling a Hiatus a Hiatus

I’ve posted before about how I’ve been updating this blog less frequently, but I think its gotten to the point I need to just admit it — “When I Talk About Running” is sort of in limbo.  I’m not calling it quits per se, but not only have I not updated in almost 6 weeks, but I’ve had no desire to write anything.   About once a week I thought “I should update my blog!” but it was more out of guilt than an actual urge to write; and if there’s one thing I don’t want to be doing is writing out of a sense of guilt or obligation.  This blog is about sharing my thoughts and love of running, not about trapping myself into some artificial “job.”  

Largely this can be blamed on all the drawing I’ve been doing lately.  I’m finishing a 22 page comic book with my friend/co-creator Ben, and working on launching an on-going web-comic.  Between teaching, two kids, running, drawing, and this blog, something had to give.  My family and work are obviously non-negotiable, running is my escape, and right now I’m getting more joy out of drawing than blogging.  If you’re interested in following the development of our comic “company” Voyager Comics, you can check out my art blog or go like our Facebook Page.  In fact, I’d really appreciate it if you did.

I’m still running, I just haven’t had much to say about it.  I’m sure I will again, so subscribe to my updates or RSS feed if you haven’t already, and someday it will tell you I’ve got some thoughts on running or a review of some minimalist shoe.  In the mean time I miss my running blogging community, but I’ll see you around the internet . . .

About Chris Van Dyke

I am a 33 year-old high school English teacher and long-distance runner. I live in Brooklyn with my partner, our 3 year-old son and 1 year-old daughter and a growing collection of muppets and trains. Besides running and teaching I like to draw, read, write, cook, and play the harmonica. While I didn't get to run my first ultra-marathon on my birthday, I've got a few more I've set my sights on. You can follow my (seldom updated) twitter feed @aboutrunning. I also blog as part of the Run Smiley Collective.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

